Playing Catch-Up

I had a few topics that I was planning to write about, but I don’t think that I have the patience to tackle each one on it’s own.  This is the part where I try to cover as much as possible in one or two posts.  It’s a bit difficult to actually sit down and write about these things when you are dealing with drains that don’t drain or clothes dryers that don’t dry, but I promise that I’ve been thinking about it.  Look, I made a list:

  1. Leaving Home
  2. Moving the Cat
  3. First Day in Amsterdam
  4. Expatcenter
  5. House Hunting

That list might seem small, but I’d be hard pressed to tell the whole story in anything under fifty pages.  However, I don’t want to write fifty pages and no one wants to read fifty pages of me blathering on, so I think we can all agree that the best thing for both of us is that I hit the hightlights.  If something doesn’t make sense, then you probably have a perfect understanding of how things actually happened.

1.  Leaving Home

Image

Most of you know we sold most of our earthly possessions and just took with us the things we could take on the plane.  That was a bad idea.  I don’t think I’ll ever do that again.  That being said, once we got everything into the car and set of, we did have quite a nice trip.

  1. Leave Atlanta
  2. Spend a week in Memphis.
  3. Attend a very nice wedding.
  4. Drive from Memphis to Missouri.
  5. Get our throwed-roll on at Lambert’s.Image
  6. Drive from Missouri to central Illinois.
  7. …. that damned cat.
  8. Another lovely wedding in Decatur, Illinois.
  9. Drive to Chicago.
  10. PORTILLO’SImage
  11. Drop off the luggage, drop off the cat, go sell the car.
  12. Arrive at Carmax to find that they are NOT OPEN.  (Nightmare ensues)
  13. Drop off the car at Shari’s grandma’s house.
  14. Taxi to Airport.
  15. Flight leaves at 6:30 PM.

2. Moving the Cat

Let me tell you how much this sucks.

  1. You have to get a chip and rabies shot at least 27 days before you go abroad.
  2. Then you have to get a vet to fill out pet passport papers no more than 10 days before you go abroad.
  3. Since we were in Decatur, IL when we needed to get the pet passport papers done, we had to go to a vet there.
  4. He had no idea how to get us an international pet passport.
  5. Two different two-hour trips from Decatur to Springfield to get papers signed by the USDA.
  6. Major pain in the ass.
Leave a Reply

