Views from Around the World

To my 8 or 9 devoted followers, let me say thank you for visiting my little corner of the net as often as you do.  In all honesty, I enjoy looking at my site stats every now and again to remind myself that people actually read the crap that I write.  It keeps me motivated to write more.  I appreciate it.

About a week and a half ago, I jumped on WordPress for my weekly stat check, and was extremely surprised to see a modest spike in readership.  Expecting to see the usual 4 or 5 views per day, I was quite shocked to see the following:

2012-12-13-2That’s right, the site went from 5 or fewer view per day to just under 200 per day.  That’s well over a 3000% increase.  I must say that when I first saw this, the first thing to go through my mind was, “Great!  I’ve been hacked!”  In addition to a huge increase in hits, I also noticed that the hits were coming from all over the world.  I typically see hits coming from two places.  I see hits from my friends in the US and hits from my friends in the Netherlands.  That makes sense to me.  This is what I saw when I looked at the location stats:

2012-12-13-3

Yeah, that’s right. 5 hits from the Republic of Tanzania.

Having NO interest whatsoever in figuring out what was going on, I shut my laptop and went about my business.  A few days later, I checked the stats again, to find that they had continued to be WAY above what I was accustomed to seeing.  Curiosity got the better of me, so I decided to do a little investigating.  Looking deeper into my stats, I found that most of the hits were coming from Google searches and heading straight to my article about Zwarte Piet.  Since Sinterklaas was just around the corner at the time, I assumed that people were just reading my post to get the perspective from an American living in Amsterdam.  Who knows?

After looking a little deeper, I realized that the hits were not just coming from Google, but Google Images.  Doing a Google Images search for Zwarte Piet gave me this:

2012-12-13-1

That’s the #2 image on Google Images that links to my blog.

You can’t tell in the screen capture, but that is the second image that pops up in a Google Image search.  I know absolutely nothing about how Google’s search algorithms work, but they found an image that I stole from some other blog and decided to tell the web to come visit my page.  They even earned me a rather tame tongue lashing from a real Zwarte Piet in the comments section.

Anyway, now that I write this, I realize it’s not that interesting of a story.  Oh well, I wrote it so I’m going to post it.   You wont realize it’s a waste of time until you get about this far into it either, so we can share the experience together!

Here’s a pretty cool slight of hand video for wasting your time! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

