Bavarian Bier und Brat Blitzkrieg

Munich Header

A few months ago, the wife and I decided that we should take a pre-holiday trip to Munich, Germany. When booking the trip, we had a few things in mind that we wanted to do while in Munich (in no particular order):

  1. Visit the Christmas Market, as we had heard that it’s freakin’ beautiful.
  2. Do a little sight seeing around town.
  3. Drink beer and eat sausages.

After returning from the debacle that was our agenda-less Barcelona trip, the wifey decided that it might be neat if I actually did some planning for this trip.  Quickly remembering the look on her face when I got us lost in the middle of a hillside barrio in Barcelona, I quickly agreed.  In fact, just before we left, as I compiled my research into a 40+ page PDF file, I realized that I perhaps overdid the planning.  Regardless, this trip went much more smoothly that our previous one, so anyone who says they don’t need to plan their vacations can bite my ass.

Meticulous planning: 1.  Spontaneity: 0.

On day one, after landing at Flughafen Munchen at 9:00 AM, we took the hour long train ride into the city and checked into our hotel.  After a short nap (that’s right, I planned naps!), the wife and I freshened up and headed out for our first day in the Bavarian capital city of Munich.  Munich iPhone 013

This is where I briefly stop the story to tell you that with so much to write about, I think that it would, again, be best to split this topic into separate blog posts.  The first post (this one) will be a disjointed and poorly thought out mishmash of random things that don’t really fit anywhere else.  After I clear out the cobwebs from my brain with this post, I’ll move on to more cogent posts about the following topics:

  1. German Food
  2. The Munich Christmas Market
  3. Castle Tours and the Hofbrauhaus

So, without any further ado, let me cover some of the things that don’t really have a home.

  1. The city center of Munich is really great.  I mean just really great.  I had to get that out of the way first.Munich iPhone 002
  2. Lunch at Tantris.  During my research I found out that Munich has a restaurant on TripAdvisor.com’s “Top 10 Traveler’s Choice Restaurants in Europe 2012” list.  Not only that, but the restaurant is also currently the proud holder of 2 Michelin stars (it had 3, but lost the obligatory 1 star when their chef left a few years ago).  Tantris is consided by many to be the best restaurant in Germany and in 2009 was voted #44 in the world by Restaurant Magazine.  As with most Michelin starred restaurants, dinner reservations fill quite quickly.  I was, however, able to secure a table for 2 at lunchtime on our first day in Munich.  Needless to say, lunch was amazing…  I may even write about it some day.  tantris_gallery_13
  3. We visited the Beer and Oktoberfest Museum.  Meh.  It’s located in a really cool old house, but it does not bode well for a museum collection when the most interesting part of the exhibit is the building it’s held in.  Anyway, here’s a picture of my wife with some beer stines.  Munich 5And here’s another funny lookin’ fella we found at the museum.  I found his visage to be a fitting tribute to all of the fallen mustaches clogging the worlds shower and sink drains now that Movember is no longer with us.  Munich 4
  4. The Frauenkirche is pretty neato.  I was able to get in, check it out, take some quick shots, and get out in about 5-10 minutes.  That’s how I like my cathedral visits.  Short, sweet, and to the point.  The Frauenkirche is quite inornate when compared to other European cathedrals.  That being said, the lack of adornment was quite refreshing after visiting Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia.  Munich 10Oh yeah, and I almost forgot…   Satan once visited this place.  They say this lone footprint was left here by the Lord of Darkness himself when, after making a deal with the architect of the cathedral, he materialized in the church to claim that which he was owed.  Unfortunately, for Mr. Mephistopheles, the church had already been consecrated.  Upon touching the newly hallowed ground, the unholy one burst into flames and disappeared, leaving nothing but this lone footprint…  Touching story, really.

    Munich 14

    Yup, that’s right, no cloven hooves, just a Men’s size 9. Satan has little feet.

  5. After leaving the charming, yet slightly touristy, Hofbrauhaus, we darted into the Hard Rock Cafe to see if they were still open for a few post-beer beers.  Immediately upon entering, we both realized that we had made a horrible mistake.  The sights, sounds, and smells of tourist trap rancor hit us like a sobering punch to the gut.  As the fact that we had just willingly walked into a Hard Rock Cafe washed over us, it seemed as if the world around us slowed to a near screeching halt, giving us ample time to reflect on the gravity of what we had just done.  The wife and I did a simultaneous about-face to retreat back into the cold night air, and as we did… I spotted a pretty cool concert poster by the door!  I guess it’s really only cool if you like R.E.M, enjoy horrible 80’s hairstyles, or ever lived in Memphis/saw a show at Mud (Mudd) Island Amphitheater.  I fit into all three categories, so I thought it was pretty rad.  I took a pic.  Enjoy, and you’re welcome!

    Munich 43

    The 1980’s. So much extra hair. So many extra D’s.

So there, I think that was disjointed and disorganized enough.  Next time: German Food and the Awesomeness that is Dallmayr.

And as always, you can get prints of my travel photos here:

Patrick Mogridge Photography

4 comments

  1. Good post man. Visited Munich myself (and currently enjoying a German Christmas): Beautiful city. Coincidentally, I’m also not long back from Barcelona: Not sure what went wrong for you, but it seemed almost impossible to fuck that weekend up! What happened? Darren.

  2. Thanks for the compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I think the biggest problem we had with Barcelona is that we really didn’t do any planning. We had a great hotel, but it was a bit outside of the city center, so it didn’t have great access to public transit. We had to take a bus an multiple trains to get anywhere. There was nothing wrong with Barcelona itself. The wife and I were just a bit on edge with each other because we didn’t have a game plan to work from. I’m sure you know how it is.

Leave a Reply

