I’m Back!!! + Rando-List nano

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I’ve done it!  I’ve managed to procrastinate blogging to the point that I don’t even remember what I last wrote about.  I had to read my own blog posting just to refresh my memory.  Pathetic, I know…

But today is a new day, and as my wife keeps kindly reminding me, I need to get back to blogging.  So here I am.  Let’s give this another shot!

At this point, I have no shortage of material to cover.  My last post was regarding our not-so-recent trip to Prague, almost three months ago.  Since then, we’ve been keeping up the travels in a big way.  Over the next few weeks I’ll be covering our recent trips to London, Paris, Venice, and the Greek Isles.

In regard to our lives here in Amsterdam, it appears that I haven’t had much to say since my last Rand0 List post back in FEBRUARY!!!  While the insanity of Amsterdam has in no way ceased, I have grown more accustomed to this fine city’s peculiar ways.  Because of this, I’ve not been doing such a great job at documenting the crazy things that go on here.  I suppose I’ll promise to do better with my daily documentation if at least one of you will promise to read about it…  Seems fair to me.

Ok, on the meat and potatoes, as one might say.  Let’s ease back into things with a little Rando-List, nano edition!

Rando Nano Header

1.  The weather here in the Lowlands has been pretty horrible for the majority of the now eight months that have passed since we moved to Amsterdam.  Cold, wet, and windy is the name of the game when it comes to Amsterdam weather.  That being said, the locals have informed me that this is a particularly terrible spring, even for The Netherlands.  Typically the weather in May is at least a bit warmer than usual, with the sun peaking through the clouds on most days.  This year, we have seen this:

Ahh.. Spring time in Amsterdam!  cold... wet... cloudy...

Ahh.. Spring time in Amsterdam! cold… wet… cloudy…

Now, being the “silver lining” type, I do have one positive note to mention.  As you may remember, the winters in Holland are not just cold and wet, but also extremely dark.  During the winter months, the sun barely manages to make an appearance before 9AM and is almost certainly gone by 4:30PM or so.  Terrible, I know.

Now that spring is here, we are experiencing a pretty fantastic reversal of this situation.  I can gladly report that I have no earthly idea as to when the sun show’s up in the morning.  For the last few weeks, I wake up, and the sun is always up.  It’s great!  At night, I can honestly say that we are already experiencing 10PM sunsets.  Just last night, I stepped outside to snap this photo of what a 10PM dusk looks like.

Note the time on the clock tower:  10:00 PM on the nose

Note the time on the clock tower: 10:00 PM on the nose

2.  I have been intending on writing a little post about the “Green” initiatives that are so prevalent in Dutch society.  I have clearly not done this yet, but I’m going to.  I promise!

In the meantime, here’s a nice little scene I captured as I was heading out to run some errands.  To me, this is a very “Dutch” scene.  It’s also a pretty damned cool one too, if one was to ask me!

Canal, Boats, Tesla Roadster getting a quick recharge at the local electric car charging station...  Gezellig!

Canal, Boats, Bikes, Bridges, and a Tesla Roadster getting a quick recharge at the local electric car charging station… Gezellig!

Well, friends, I think I should stop there, lest this become a full fleged Rando-List…  I just wanted to let you guys know that:

a) The Mogridges are still alive and well.

and

b) I still possess the power of protracted pontification.

I feel my job is done here.  I’ll be back… soon-ish

One comment

Leave a Reply

